Silent Archimedes

Top 5 most overrated and underrated movies

Posted by silentarchimedes on June 22, 2008

Top 5 most overrated and underrated movies

Here is my list of the top 5 most overrated movies I’ve seen, in no particular order:

1. Shrek series (2001-2007) – These movies are not funny at all. The story lines are completely predictable. I’ll let the original Shrek pass, but an 8.0 on IMDB? Come on! If you are under 10 years old, ok, the movies are cute, and jokes are funny. Like the Little Pig saying, “He hooffed und he poooffed und he… signed an eviction notice.” Who comes up with those lines??

2. Princess Bride (1987) – I think I’m missing something in this movie, because it seems like everyone LOVES this movie. I found it boring and corny.

.

.

3. Sideways (2004) – Two men in mid-life crisis take a trip to wine country? The title for the movie is appropriate. It went sideways, nothing happened.

.

.

4. Little Miss Sunshine (2006) – Steve Carrell was funny, but he had such a small part. I wanted to punch the girl in the face!

.

.

5. English Patient (1996) – This is the only movie I’ve ever wanted to walk out of the theater. It was way longer than it needed to be. And the agony of watching desert scenes in slow motion. Arghhh…

.

.

Here is my list of the top 5 most underrated movies I’ve seen, in no particular order:

1. Legend of Drunken Master (1994) – None of my friends have seen this movie, but it is Jackie Chan at his best; funny, dangerous and funny stunts, amazing martial arts and a cute storyline. The supporting cast is also one of the best.

.

2. Seven Samurai (1954) – I don’t like Kurosawa’s other movies like Ran and Rashomon, but this movie is storytelling at its best. Even watching the 4-hour director’s cut flew by.

.

.

3. Wall Street (1987) – Although a bit stereotypical and simplistic at times, this movie exemplifies the capitalistic goals of greed and power at any cost.

.

.

4. A Bronx Tale (1993) – One of my favorite De Niro movies ever. A very powerful movie that uses simple and soft storytelling to portray the reality of the narrator’s perspective. A blue-collar coming of age story in 1960s New York City when racial divides and mafia/cultural traditions collide.

.

5. Duel (1970) – One of Steven Spielberg’s earliest directorial performances. A masterpiece of suspense, anxiety and fear.

.

.

I plan to update these at some point to 10 movies each and order them.

3 Responses to “Top 5 most overrated and underrated movies”

  1. ianthecool said

    Hey, thanks for these. I’m thinking of doing something similar. I agree with you on the Shrek sequels but highly disagree with the original Shrek, which I thought was a really unique (at the time) and special film.

  2. I’ve seen three of the five of your most overrated films. I agree with you on Little Miss Sunshine, I thought it was pretty boring, but Sideways was hilarious, that one I liked.

  3. babyjstarlight said

    I would also agree with the Shrek sequels being quite boring and unfunny, however the original was a great movie.

Leave a Reply

 
