Silent Archimedes

Do you know how many houses you own? McCain doesn’t.

Posted by silentarchimedes on August 21, 2008

How in the world does John McCain not know how many houses he owns????

In the news today, when McCain was asked how many houses he and his wife, Cindy, own, he replied,

“I think — I’ll have my staff get to you,” McCain told Politico in Las Cruces, N.M. “It’s condominiums where — I’ll have them get to you.”

Let me put it this way. If you are not a big time millionaire (which he is), you know how many houses you own. Chances are, you can count them on one hand, maybe you’ll cross over to your second hand, but counting up to ten should be easy enough. I’m assuming he has a big time accounting staff that handles his taxes and money. Either that, or we are in big trouble with him as president. I don’t want to bring up the age issue…

This after he said a few days ago that being rich in the U.S. meant earning at least $5 million a year!! Wow! Tell that to the majority of Americans that make $50,000 or less a year. I think they would disagree with that. Hell, earning $150,000 should make you rich in America. I guess this is why Republicans don’t like taxing the people earning between $200,000 and $5 million because they need their money so bad to survive. After all, they are not rich.

The whole houses issue is still not resolved. His campaign later said he has AT LEAST four houses. How do you not know the exact number? Isn’t it on your tax forms. Hmmm, let me see how many houses I own? NONE! That was easy math. Newsweek’s own assessment said they own seven. I wonder if the McCains bought at the top of the housing bubble. Unless they are scooping them all up now now that the bubble has burst. Maybe it’s their way of infusing capital into the economy. Maybe it’s because so many are still in the buying process, so he doesn’t know if he should put them as being owned or not. He’s such a good guy…

Obama’s response? “I guess if you think being rich means you’ve got to make $5 million and if you don’t know how many houses you have, it’s not surprising you might think the economy is fundamentally strong.”

This shows how polarizing this country has become. Wasn’t Bush suppose to unite this country? That was one of his campaign mottos in 1999. Now I just see a country strongly divided down the middle. The rich and religious on one side, and the poor and liberal on the other side. What happened to the third class, which is supposed to be the biggest in terms of a strong democracy? The middle class and practicality??

2 Responses to “Do you know how many houses you own? McCain doesn’t.”

  1. Where did you get your blog layout from? I’d like to get one like it for my blog.

  2. Hi,

    I’m just getting started with my new blog. Would you want to exchange links on our blog-rolls?

    BTW – I’m up to about 100 visitors per day.

Leave a Reply

 
