Silent Archimedes

What are you going to do with your life? I guess grad school…

Posted by silentarchimedes on December 24, 2008

I was at the campus gym this afternoon. Stretching before getting in an hour of running. As I was stretching I overheard two undergraduate females next to me having a conversation about what they were going to do after graduation. One of them mentioned how she wanted to go to law school, but that the ones she wanted to go to were difficult to get in. Then the other one mentioned how she wanted to go to graduate school as well, but didn’t know for what or where. The next words out of the aspiring lawyer were quite interesting. She said something of the sort,

I guess grad school is the only way to go. I mean what else is there to do? Seems like grad school is the only way to go these days.

I didn’t know what to do think regarding that comment. The initial reaction is, well, yah, jobs are hard to find these days, so it’s probably prudent to look at alternatives. But then, the comment can also be seen as slightly belittling graduate school, almost putting it at second fiddle next to jobs. In any case, I’m not here to defend graduate school, since I don’t know what will happen to me once I graduate, but I haven’t taken a step back in a long time to see what young people think of grad school. Has it changed since I was coming out of undergrad? The job market sure has.

Leave a Reply

 
